Online Continuing Education

MGs continue education for lifeWhat is continuing education?

Classes that will improve a volunteer’s knowledge and skill base for performing work as a horticulture adviser and serving as a resource on issues of sustainable gardening for home gardeners. MGs are trained to carry out the mission of WSU Extension and its community horticulture programs, and their purpose is to educate. 

Education that counts as continuing education includes classes, seminars, lectures offered by accredited institutions/horticulture organizations including webinars and online workshops. 

Below is the list of online continuing education for Master Gardeners. Some are available from Oregon State University and the Cooperative Extension System as webinars, and some are relevant to home gardening and some are relevant to the Pacific Northwest. The webinars listed below are offered on demand and without charge. Additional recordings are available by using the Advanced Search on the eXtension website, https://connect.extension.org/.

The hotlinks listed below will take you to a selection of webinars that are relevant and will qualify as CE. The list of videos are sorted by broad topics and year, so view the full list to find topics of interest to you. As you watch the webinar, reflect on how the topic presented relates to the questions from clients and how the information will influence your answers.

Plants

2018 ‘First Look’: OSU Research on Native Plants in the PNW Garden: https://connect.extension.org/event/first-look-osu-research-on-native-plants-in-the-pnw-garden

2018 Hybridization and Tetraploids and Chromosomes, Oh My! Understanding Plant Breeding for Disease Resistance: https://connect.extension.org/event/hybridization-and-tetraploids-and-chromosomes-oh-my-understanding-plant-breeding-for-disease-resistance

2019 What can a leaf bud tell us about environmental change? Citizen Science, Master Gardeners and Nature’s Notebook: https://connect.extension.org/event/what-can-a-leaf-bud-tell-us-about-environmental-change-citizen-science-master-gardeners-and-nature-s-notebook

2020 Benefits Of Using Cover Crops: https://connect.extension.org/event/benefits-of-using-cover-crops?reply=534297201039955631#534297201039955631

Bees, Pollinators

2017 Never doubt how a small, thoughtful and committed pollinator habitat (in your garden) can change the world: https://connect.extension.org/event/never-doubt-how-a-small-thoughtful-and-committed-pollinator-habitat-in-your-garden-can-change-the-world

2018 The latest research on bees in the garden: Results from the Oregon State University Garden Ecology Lab: https://connect.extension.org/event/the-latest-research-on-bees-in-the-garden-results-from-the-oregon-state-university-garden-ecology-lab

2019 “First Look” Reading a Pesticide Label to Protect Bees: https://connect.extension.org/event/first-look-reading-a-pesticide-label-to-protect-bees

Vegetables, Edible Plants

2018 Practical Food Safety in the Garden: https://connect.extension.org/event/practical-food-safety-in-the-garden

2019 Adapting Dry Farming Techniques to Vegetable Gardens: https://connect.extension.org/event/adapting-dry-farming-techniques-to-vegetable-gardens

2019 Demystifying Grafted Tomatoes: The Why & How for Gardeners: https://connect.extension.org/event/demystifying-grafted-tomatoes-the-why-and-how-for-gardeners

2019 Succession Planting: Growing Crops for Continual Harvest: https://connect.extension.org/event/succession-planting-growing-crops-for-continual-harvest?reply=534578731992731008#534578731992731008

2020 Companion Planting For Vegetables: https://connect.extension.org/event/companion-planting-for-vegetables?reply=533593489354700522#533593489354700522

2020 Companion Planting For Vegetables II: https://connect.extension.org/event/companion-planting-for-vegetables-ii?reply=534156463535726105#534156463535726105

Pest Management in the Landscape

2017 Organic Pesticides for Home Gardens: https://connect.extension.org/event/organic-pesticides-for-home-gardens

2018 All Bugs Good and Bad Webinar Series: Bees, Wasps, and Hornets, Oh my!: https://connect.extension.org/event/2018-all-bugs-good-and-bad-webinar-series-bees-wasps-and-hornets-oh-my

2018 Dealing with Darling Dastardly Deer: https://connect.extension.org/event/dealing-with-darling-dastardly-deer

2018 Frontiers in Slug & Snail Managementhttps://connect.extension.org/event/frontiers-in-slug-and-snail-management

2018 Identifying & Managing the Bronze Birch Borer (recording, resources): https://connect.extension.org/event/identifying-and-managing-the-bronze-birch-borer

2018 Meet the New Neighbors: Emerging Insect Pests in Oregonhttps://connect.extension.org/event/meet-the-new-neighbors-emerging-pest-issues-in-oregon

2019 Asian Jumping Worms: A Threat to Oregon Landscapes: https://connect.extension.org/event/asian-jumping-worms-a-threat-to-oregon-landscapes

2019 Project Happy Apples: Reducing codling moth damage in backyard orchards: https://connect.extension.org/event/project-happy-apples-reducing-codling-moth-damage-in-backyard-orchards

2020 Dueling with Diggers: Gophers, Moles, Voles and Ground Squirrels: https://connect.extension.org/event/dueling-with-diggers-gophers-moles-voles-and-ground-squirrels

2020 Early Summer Pest Issues: https://connect.extension.org/event/early-summer-pest-issues

2020 Oh Rats! Dealing with non-native rodents in the garden: https://connect.extension.org/event/oh-rats-dealing-with-non-native-rodents-in-the-garden

Plant Disease Management

2018 Powdery Mildew: Biology and Management in the Garden: https://connect.extension.org/event/powdery-mildew-biology-and-management-in-the-garden

2019 Are Viruses Lurking in Your Backyard Cherries? https://connect.extension.org/event/are-viruses-lurking-in-your-backyard-cherries

2019 Update on Sudden Oak Death in the Pacific Northwest: https://connect.extension.org/event/update-on-sudden-oak-death-in-the-pacific-northwest

2020 From the 2020 WSU Extension King County Master Gardener Training Series: Plant Pathology & Plant Problem Diagnosis Presenter: Rachel Bomberger, WSU Department of Plant Pathology

Updated September 2020




Click here to Ask Gardening Questions.

Help if you are having trouble signing in. Extension programs and employment are available to all
without discrimination. Evidence of noncompliance may
Website issues? Contact the Webmaster. be reported through your local Extension office.


Copyright © 2020 Master Gardener Foundation of King County, All Rights Reserved. Web Design by FWD»